The Park

When in the park, I sit and watch the ducks,

And there I find a fleeting sense of peace.

Others fancy not the air of parks;

They go to theatres, clubs, and rowdy games.

Still more insist on staying in their homes

And working to complete less public aims.

As I look around me in the world,

Seeing so many different kinds of men

And how oft’ into chaos we are hurled;

I hope and pray that someday it will pass –

That everyone will find their park and ducks.

-Michael Sweeney (Cave Troll)

Leave a comment

Filed under poetry

Leave a Reply

